Strawberry Lime Bars

Strawberry Lime Bars

I had some grand plans to make these pictures better with a little photoshop action before writing this post, but the urge to get it posted sooner won out.  Let me tell y’all – these were muy delicioso.  And pretty simple.  The hardest part is waiting for the dang things to chill so you can stuff your face.I was searching Pinterest (seriously ladies, what did we do before this internet black hole mecca came along??  I’m just thankful I was finished with grad school before I found it) for something sweet to take to work to celebrate the end of the semester with the other science gals.  I found this recipe and thought it looked yummy, so I proceeded to make it my own (and tried to lighten it up just a smidge).

crumbs in food processor

I used my food processor to crush my graham crackers into crumbs and then to add the sugar, salt, vanilla, and butter.  Once everything is combined, dump the mixture into a greased square pan and press it down.  Oh, and in case you were wondering, that lovely manicure is called “worked on sanding our floors all weekend.”  That post should be out next week I hope.

press in the crumbs

I love love love these red square Le Creuset baking dishes we got as a wedding gift last year.  By the way, can anyone tell me how to really pronounce Le Creuset??  I’m from Texas, so I just say Lay-CrewSay, but according to Pioneer Woman, that’s not really correct.  We speak Tex-glish and TexMex down here, not much French.

Once your crust is thoroughly pressed, pop it into the oven for about ten minutes.  After you take it out, let it cool for a while because the next step is really quick and it needs to cool. While your crust is cooling, comment below and teach me to pronounce Le Creuset so I don’t sound like a country bumpkin if I’m ever discussing bakeware or dutch ovens with a fancy-pants city person.  Thanks.  (By the way, I recently watched a YouTube video to learn how to pronounce Yves Saint Laurent and decided I’ll just stick to saying Y-S-L.  Not that I have much cause to talk about YSL, because I am really not that fancy or into fancy designers, but still….)

egg yolks

Ok back to the dessert.  Whisk your egg yolks, condensed milk and lime juice together in a bowl until nicely combined.  In a separate bowl or liquid measuring cup plop a couple of spoonfuls of strawberry jam and a teeny bit of warm water and whisk, adding water until the mixture is pour-able (it doesn’t take much water).

strawberry mixture

Pour the lime filling into your cooled crust, spreading as necessary.

pour in the filling

Then (and I wish I had a picture of this but I only have two hands, people.  Maybe I will get better at multitasking or grow a third arm one of these days.)  pour the strawberry mixture in three parallel lines across the lime filling.  Then slowly swirl a butter knife in a wide zigzag across the pan in a direction perpendicular to your strawberry lines.  It will look good with minimal effort, I promise.

unbaked

Then pop it into the oven for 15-20 minutes until mostly set.  It will still jiggle a bit, but will firm up as it cools.  Now the hard part.  Let it cool to room temperature and then put it in the refrigerator for a few hours, preferably overnight.

baked

I’ll admit that Husband and I tried these before I chilled them.  And they were yummy.  The rest of the pan disappeared the next day.  Make these for someone you love!

yummy

Strawberry Lime Bars

About 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

4 Tb butter, melted

1/4 tsp salt (if using unsalted butter)

2 Tb sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 large egg yolks

1 small (14 oz) can fat free sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup lime juice

3 Tb strawberry jam

warm water (as needed to thin jam)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease an 8″ square pan.  Combine the graham cracker crumbs, melted butter, vanilla, and sugar until it looks like sand.  Press into your greased pan and bake for 10 minutes.  While the crust is cooling, mix the egg yolks, sweetened condensed milk and lime juice until well blended.  Pour into the cooled crust.  Mix jam with just a little water and whisk, adding water until jam mixture is pour-able.  Pour 3 parallel lines of jam into the filling and swirl with a butter knife.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, until filling is mostly set and edges are browning slightly.  Chill for several hours or overnight.

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Lime Bars

Leave a Reply

