Turkey Chili

This is probably one of the cheapest dinners EVER.  And if for some reason you can’t spend $3 on a pound of ground turkey, this would still be really good with just beans.  Plus it makes a LOT so you are gonna have meals for a long time or for a bunch of people.

I love chili.  I love it so much that I make it in the middle of summer, which I know is really strange, but now that its getting to be “football weather” time, I figured more of you would be willing to jump on the chili wagon. :)  Chili is also one of the first things I tried my hand at making without a recipe.  Really, once you know the basics of what to put in, you can make whatever kind of chili you want, which is why it is really easy to make a healthy chili.  This is also a great recipe when you go to cook and everything in the fridge is moldy or you haven’t been to the store in a while because it is mostly canned items.  Someday when there is a zombie apocalypse, Jared and I will probably be living off this.  But I digress…

 Ok so start off with your ground turkey, some chopped onion and a little salt and pepper in a big pot.  I’m not kidding, big.  I’ve had to transfer mid-recipe before and that’s just not fun.  Cook it ’til all the pink is gone.

Now add a big handful or two of shredded carrots.  I like to use shredded carrots because they are really easy to cook with, but whatever shape is fine as long as you chop them relatively small.  Toss in some frozen corn and let it work for a few minutes, until the carrots are tender

Now its time to raid your stash of cans.  Rinse, drain and pour in a can of great northern beans and a can of black beans.  Then add a can of diced tomatoes (NOT drained) and a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies.  You can add a can of green chilies also if you want your chili to be extra-spicy.

On to the spices!  Now, I have to confess that I often don’t measure my spices.  But I will do my best to break that habit when I am cooking for you.  First thing this chili needs for sure is cumin.  Cumin is an amazing, smoky spice that gives things a bit of Mexican flair, I think.  I add

ed a good 2 teaspoons because I love it (and sometimes turkey needs extra spicing), but if you feel unsure, start with one.
Of course, our chili needs chili powder.  One day, I was in the middle of making chili and realized I was out, so I had to go to the closest grocery store to my apartment, which happens to be the IndoPak Market.  This was the smallest amount of chili powder I could buy there.  Ha!  However, look how cheap it was!! And it is very potent for my little white girl tastebuds, so it will last me forever.  So because my chili powder is extra hot, I only put in half a teaspoon, but if you are using regular chili powder, you will probably want a whole teaspoon.  Add a little salt and pepper, stir everything together and add some liquid – you can use broth, water or beer – about 2 cups (if you plan on letting this cook for a long time – i.e. hours – you will want to add about 4 cups initially, then check the liquid level periodically).

Now stir it all together, put a lid on it, turn the burner down and let it work.  The longer the better, but I am pretty impatient, so mine only simmered about 20 minutes or so, and it was delicious.  About halfway through, taste it and see how you like the spice level (this is why it is good to start with less, so you can add more if needed).

When you decide you can’t wait any longer, grab a bowl, some cheese and sour cream and enjoy!

Turkey Chili

1 lb. lean ground turkey

1/2 a small onion, chopped

2 handfuls of shredded carrots

1 cup frozen corn

1 can great northern beans, rinsed and drained

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can diced tomatoes with green chilies

2 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp chili powder

2 cups chicken broth, water or beer

salt and pepper to taste

shredded cheese, sour cream and cilantro to garnish

Brown the turkey over medium-high heat with the chopped onion until no longer pink.  Drain any grease.  Add corn and carrots and cook until carrots are tender.  Add beans, tomatoes and tomatoes with green chilies, then stir in all spices.  Add chicken broth, water, or beer, cover and simmer at least 20 minutes, up to 2 hours with additional cooking liquid.  Garnish with shredded cheese and sour cream.

2 thoughts on “Turkey Chili

Leave a Reply

