Perfectly Easy Pizza Crust

Hello lovelies.  I have been slacking on my blogging lately!  This seemed to be a particularly busy week; it certainly went by in a whirlwind at our house.

Friday night is pizza night in the Stein household.  This did not begin with our Stein household; it probably goes way back to the Stein ancestors in Germany and Poland in the fifteenth century.  Herr Gustav Herman Olav Stein probably gathered his brood around the ancient brick oven as his children came in and asked, “Can we have Hawaiian pizza tonight?” “Did anyone remember to record Shark Tank?” “Did you get some Shiner?” “Grimm is new tonight!”.  So who am I to mess with hundreds of years of tradition?

Yeah, I made that up.

Anyway, Friday night pizza is a tradition from Jared’s childhood, and I think you all know how I feel about carbs and cheese, so I was all too happy to continue it at our house.

Sidenote: yes, we stay in most every Friday night.  Yes, we realize we are old.  I make the pizza while Wheel of Fortune is on, Husband gets home from work just in time to overly-cheese everything and complain about the pile of veggies I have added.  No, we aren’t getting Social Security and Medicare benefits yet.  I know you were wondering.  Moving on.

We prefer homemade pizza, not to mention it is much kinder to our food budget (and my waistline, ahem) than take-out.  I have been experimenting with different crusts for a while, but I tried Pioneer Woman’s recipe recently and I am completely sold.  It’s easy and really, really good.  Plus you get that satisfaction that only comes when you realize you are done searching for something.  Much like the awesome feeling you get when you get married and realize you are done with the dating game.

I don’t have step-by-step photos, but they would be redundant since PW has them on her site.  Which you should visit anyway, because it is a fantastic food/life blog and Ree is just darn cute.  She reminds me of my Aunt Debbie, who is one of the most wonderful Godly women I’ve been priviledged to know.

Anyway, here’s what our finished pizza looked like:Image

It tasted even better than it looks.  This one was Hawaiian with bell pepper (but only peppers on one half because Jared is crazy and doesn’t like them) and we also made a pepperoni with mushrooms and spinach.

This recipe does require a tad bit of planning ahead, but I stirred everything together before work on Friday morning and left it covered on the counter all day.  When I got home it was ready to go.  The active time on this crust was probably 15 minutes.  The result was a chewy, perfectly crisp crust with fantastic flavor.  Give it a try soon, you’ll thank me later.

Perfectly Easy Pizza Crust

(slightly adapted from Pioneer Woman’s recipe)

Makes two pizza crusts about 15″ in diameter

1 tsp Rapid Rise active dry yeast

1 1/2 cups very warm water (but not hot – you’ll kill your little yeasties!  You just want to wake them up)

2 cups bread flour (NOTE: if you don’t have bread flour, you can sub regular, but the higher gluten content in bread flour makes the crust deliciously chewy and easier to work with)

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp Kosher salt

1/3 cup olive oil

Sprinkle yeast over warm water, gently stir.  Set aside.  Stir together flours and salt.  Add olive oil and mix well (a mixer might be helpful, but I did it by hand since my mixer has two speeds – super-high-let’s-whip-this and let’s-see-if-the-g-force-of-these-spinning-beaters-can-cause-this-hand-mixer-to-launch-into-space).  Add yeast and water mixture – it should be a little foamy and quite cloudy.  Stir to combine everything into a sticky dough.  Transfer dough to a large greased bowl, lightly cover with plastic wrap and a towel and leave on the counter to rise for at least 6 hours or put it in the fridge for up to 3 days.

When you are ready to make pizza, divide the dough in half.  Roll and stretch the dough with floured hands into your desired size and shape.  Bake on a pan greased with olive oil in a preheated oven at 500 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.  Slice and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Perfectly Easy Pizza Crust

  1. I want to do this with my boyfriend!! It looks so good. He really likes pizza-maybe eats it four times a week-so I feel making a homemade one will be healthier for him. Yours looks fantastic!!!

  2. Pingback: Taco Pizza and Weight-Loss Contest Update. And Yes, Those are Oxymorons. | delicious on a dime

Leave a Reply

