They are Gonna Serve These Sweet Potatoes in Heaven

Hi y’all.  Wow, I’ve been a terrible blogger the past two weeks!  Apologies.  I was super busy getting ready for our four parents, Husband’s grandmother, and my brother to all come to our apartment for Thanksgiving.  Then I did Black Friday and promptly got sick :( and then had tons of catching up to do at work.  So that being said, I had planned on posting this recipe before Thanksgiving, but alas, it didn’t happen.  But that’s alright because after you try this you will eat sweet potatoes on a regular basis year-round.  Promise.

ImageJust look at the crispy, sweet n’ salty goodness!  No marshmallows in sight.  And while I am certainly not anti-marshmallow by any means, I don’t want ’em on my sweet potatoes.   I really want to work a Three Stooges yam joke into this post somewhere.  Let’s see how it goes.

By the way, this recipe is really healthy.  But it’s one of those that healthy is just a fortunate side effect of delicious.  And if you know me, you know those are my favorite healthy recipes.  Here’s a link on some of the good things about sweet potatoes if you’d like to know, or you can just trust me when I say these babies are one of the best things you could eat.

Naturally I add fat and salt.

But only a little.  I promise.

So here we go.  If you’ve never bought raw sweet potatoes before, choose firm ones that don’t have lots of ugly spots.  I mean, they are roots, and they won’t look as nice as regular potatoes, so think of it as a beauty pageant at a women’s correctional facility.

Once you get home, peel your sweet potatoes and rinse, cutting off any bad spots.ImageThree medium-large sweet potatoes is perfect for husband and me.  I’d suggest making more than you think you will need.  We usually devour a third of these before they even get off the cookie sheet…..

Now grab your biggest, scariest, sharpest knife.  Trust me, you’ll need it.

ImageRaw sweet potatoes have much firmer flesh than regular potatoes.  It is going to take some elbow grease and karate moves on the thicker parts.  But soldier on and chop your yams into bite-sized pieces.  Try to be somewhat consistent in your sizing so that the pieces will cook evenly.

Image

Dump your pieces into a big bowl and drizzle with a few tablespoons of olive oil.  I’d say you really only need about one healthy tablespoon per potato.  Then dump in a little kosher salt (my new favorite salt) and a bunch of black pepper. Note – I have also used seasoning salt, such as Lawry’s or Saltgrass 7 spice – this also results in delectable results, but today we will stick to basics.

IMG_0397

 Stir everything together to make sure all the pieces are evenly coated with the olive oil and seasoning.  Somehow I always choose a bowl that is too small and some pieces end up going overboard.  Don’t be like me – grab a large bowl.

IMG_0398

Now dump your little orange babies onto a cookie sheet with raised sides – you don’t want to lose any in the bottom of the oven.  Arrange all the pieces into one layer as best you can, like so:

IMG_0399Then pop into a preaheated oven at 450 degrees.  You want high heat to really roast the sweet potatoes and bring out the deliciousness.  It’s a scientific process.

After about 15 minutes, give the sweet potatoes a gentle stir; do your best to flip them onto their other side.  I generally use a small pancake turner for this.  And it’s almost impossible to not have a couple of pieces that jump off the cookie sheet onto the oven door during this process, so when it happens, don’t despair.  Total cooking time will be around 30-40 minutes, depending on the size of your pieces and your oven.  They are ready when the edges are crispy and browned and the thicker pieces are fork-tender.

IMG_0400When the sweet potatoes are done, they will look like this.  Yum.  We like ours a little extra crispy.  I actually burned the batch a bit on Thanksgiving day and Husband loved them more than usual.  I don’t know about you, but I am all about a recipe that still tastes good when you accidentally slightly burn it.  Because I get distracted.

So if you have only ever had sweet potatoes covered in sugary toppings, I really encourage you to try them this way.  Not only is it much better for you, it makes a fantastic side dish for almost anything.  Although I will admit I could make a [very unbalanced] meal out of entire pan of these babies.

So what are your favorite non-traditional ways to prepare traditional holiday foods or ingredients?  Hopefully you all had a fantastic Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “They are Gonna Serve These Sweet Potatoes in Heaven

  1. I would love to be eating this right now. I’m HUNGRY! Also, hope you’re feeling better and glad to see you blogging again!

Leave a Reply

