Blueberry Banana Bran Muffins

muffins1I really wish I could call these something other than muffins, because that m is really throwing off the fantastic alliteration I have going on.  I suppose if I had a mini muffin pan they could be Blueberry Banana Bran Bites, but I don’t.  *sigh*  I suppose we could go with Blueberry Banana Bran Bombs, but there is really something terrifying about any food that can be described as a Bran Bomb.  And these are delicious, and I don’t want you to be scared to make them.

I whipped up these little babies (ah! finally a good b-word!) on Sunday morning.  I’d had the bag of oat bran in my pantry for a while, and Husband had been asking for some bran muffins.  Although I think he had just plain muffins in mind.  Weird.  I think he is the only human on earth that likes a plain muffin.  I need variety in my muffin-life.  Blueberries, raisins, poppy seeds, apple chunks, banana, chocolate chips, etc.  And before you accuse me of being all selfish, Husband also likes muffins with additions.

So I started with a basic recipe I found here.  Then I adjusted to make the muffins you see above.  If you haven’t ever created your own recipe, muffins are a great place to start.  Just find a basic recipe so you know you have the proper ratios of dry and wet ingredients and leavening, then get creative!  Muffins are a very forgiving medium.  They can be sweet or savory, healthy or Paula Deen worthy, fruity or chocolatey.

Here’s what I pulled out for my muffins:

ingredients

As you can see, I love HEB.

If you’ve read the blog before, you know that I always seem to have an abundance of over-ripe bananas.  This is because I like green bananas.  These bad boys above are totally past the eat alone stage for me.  They are like Clint Eastwood in banana years.  I know that’s some people’s cup of tea, but I prefer my bananas to be more like Justin Beiber bananas.  Wait…. this may not be the best analogy…. let’s move on.

My original recipe called for brown sugar and honey, which was a lot of sweetener.  Since I was adding sweet Clint Eastwood bananas, I left the honey out.  Also note, I am using oat bran as opposed to wheat bran.  That’s just what I happened to get at Sprouts.  I’m sure wheat bran would jive here too, but the texture might be different.

dryingredients

So mix all your dry ingredients together (including the brown sugar) until everything is fully combined.

milk

In a separate bowl, pour one cup of milk, and add the bananas.

pastryblender

I microwaved this mixture just a smidgen so the bananas would get softer.  You don’t have to do this if your bananas are Mickey Rooney bananas.  I then used a pastry blender to really get the bananas mushed and blended with the milk. Add the egg, oil, and vanilla to this mixture, blending everything in really well.

wetingredients1

Now pour your banana milk mixture into your dry ingredients, and mix until just combined.  A few lumps are a good thing when it comes to muffin batter, but make sure all the bran comes into contact with some moisture.

porridge

It’s going to look like some Charles Dickens-style porridge, but I promise it will be good.

blueberries

I just want to take a second to say how much I love frozen blueberries.  In fact, fresh blueberries aren’t really my jam.  I think it’s the stem-thing?  I don’t know.  I just love the texture of frozen blueberries.  And look how pretty these are!  I know your mouth is watering.  Fold them in gently.

ovenready

Spoon the batter into a greased muffin tin, and don’t be shy about filling up the cups; this batter doesn’t rise as much as you’d expect.  Bake at 425 degrees for about 18 minutes.

muffins1

These are so delicious right out of the oven.  Have some coffee ready :)

Blueberry Banana Bran Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

1 &  3/4 cups oat bran

1 cup flour

1 Tbs baking powder

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 egg

2 Tbs oil

1 cup milk

2 ripe bananas

1 tsp vanilla

1 & 1/2 cups frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Mix all dry ingredients, including brown sugar.  In a separate bowl, mash bananas with milk.  Add egg, oil, and vanilla; mix well, ensuring egg is beaten.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir until just combined.  Gently fold in blueberries.  Spoon batter into greased muffin tin and bake for about 18 minutes.

Nutritional information for one muffin (made with unsweetened almond milk): 154 calories, 4.5 g fat, 31 g carbohydrates, 4 g fiber, 12 g sugar, 4 g protein.

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Banana Bran Muffins

Leave a Reply

