No, I Actually Didn’t Fall Off of the Earth

Hello, loves!  I hope you all had a fantastic holiday.  Maybe you noticed I took a holiday from blogging?  This was unintentional.  Do you ever find that the longer your break is, the more stuff you find to fill it with?  I was somewhat busy for the holidays, but I did get a good bit of r&r in too.  I just took a little unplanned hiatus from technology.  Well, except from my new Kindle Fire that Santa brought me.  And from the wii.  And the reason I was glued to the wii over Christmas break??Image

My new copy of Just Dance 4!!  I know.  Believe me, I know.  But this game is some serious fun, and if you haven’t tried it I encourage you to do so.  Now, if you’re an uncoordinated, slightly chunky white girl like me, be prepared to look silly.  I know I looked really stupid the first few times I played.  But now, after many hours spent laughing at myself, I probably look a little more like this:Image

Husband always laughs at me when I play, but I don’t care.  I’m having a blast, plus it is a pretty good workout!  In fact, I think playing Just Dance for several hours over the course of the holiday is what helped me lose a couple pounds rather than gain over Christmas!!

Speaking of, I joined a “Biggest Loser” contest at work.  It was $10 to join, and we all weighed in before Christmas break, and have to weigh in every Monday morning.  For every pound you gain, you must pay $1!!  Whoever loses the largest percentage of their starting body weight wins all the cash at the end of the semester.  Since I have gained 15 pounds since our wedding, I knew I needed to do something, and this negative-reinforcement thing sounded like it would keep me in check.  So, to go along with that, I will be posting how I am doing on here.  AND, I am going to post my actual weight with a picture.  Hopefully I can watch my progress over time, and you can all cheer me on!

(Also the picture thing was a spur-of-the-moment idea, so I only have a head shot today.  I will do full body next time.)

“I’m just, like, really T-O’d that she hasn’t sent a full body shot yet…”

Ok, so here we go!

January 16, 2013

Height: 5’7″

Weight: 175 lbs.

% Body Fat: 32%  (yuck – that’s 56 pounds of my body that is just fat!!  I want to get this number down closer to 20%)

Image

These fluorescent lights are super flattering….

I know it’s not fair that this is only my face, but I would like for my chubby cheeks to be a little less, well, chubby.

So there’s one of my New Year’s resolutions I suppose.  We have another one, but I will save that for later!  Do you have any resolutions or goals for 2013?

4 thoughts on “No, I Actually Didn’t Fall Off of the Earth

  1. I don’t think your cheeks are chubby AT ALL!! They are just full and trust, full cheeks will keep people thinking you’re a teen for the rest of your life. I know this to be true. No matter how skinny I get, I still have full cheeks (it’s a family trait from my dad’s side). It keeps one looking youthful.

    But onto this challenge, you’re super brave. Do your coworkers see you get weighed?

    • Haha well thanks. We ladies always see flaws in ourselves that no one else sees, you know?
      And we don’t see each other get weighed most of the time, but the weights aren’t really a secret. But I just decided that I am not going to be self conscious about a number, especially because everyone involved in the contest is trying to make themselves better.

  2. wow love all the napoleon dynamite references, that awesome you are participating with your coworkers, not sure I would be brave enough to do that. I have started to get back on the wii again, in fact that’s where I’m headed right now. Hope you meet your goals :)

Leave a Reply

