Simple Roasted Chicken

Hola, amigos.  I hope life has been treating everyone well.  Things have been nuts at our house the last couple of weeks!  Mostly because husband and I have been really busy with work and we have spent lots of time on the weekends house hunting.  House hunting has been a somewhat emotionally exhausting experience.  I would compare finding a house to the difficulty of finding a date in seventh grade.  However, hopefully I will have better news on that front soon.

This post is really about chicken.

Roasted Chicken

I know the quality of this photo sucks. I was hungry, ok?

I love chicken.  It goes with so many flavors!  You can really dress it with almost any spice you want and get great results.  But to me, the most heavenly chicken combo is when chicken meets garlic.  Mmmm.  So if you love tasting heavenly combinations, make this roasted chicken.  Plus it is ridiculously simple and quite economical.

IMG_0507

Ok, so I know that right now some of you are really disgusted with me because of the lack of organic-ness of my chicken.  I’m sorry.  I hope we can still be friends.  I have seen Food, Inc. by the way.  For everyone else – I hope you are as excited about that price as I was.  Whole chickens are really a good way to go if you have a little time and don’t mind sicking your hands up thing’s butts.

IMG_0508

So once you have your chicken, unwrap it over an empty sink and rinse the whole thing with cool water.  If it has giblets, remove them.  Place in a large oven-safe pot or roaster with a lid (I love my cast iron dutch oven for this!) and dry it off with a paper towel.  Resist the urge to remove the skin.  I know, chicken skin is super disgusting, but you don’t want your chicken’s boobs to have the texture of sawdust.  Don’t forget to be careful to sanitize everything that touches the raw chicken or chicken juices!

IMG_0510

Next – take some softened butter (I believe I did a whole stick.  Judge away.) and add the herbs and seasonings of your choice.  I wanted to keep things simple, so I just did dried rosemary and grapefruit zest.  Using your fingers, rub your bird all over with your glorious butter.  Be sure to rub some inside the cavity, too.  Don’t be shy about it, we are about to shove all sorts of things up there.

IMG_0511

Peel some (and by some, I mean at least 4) garlic cloves and slice up some washed citrus of your choice – I had a grapefruit laying around. Then shove all of it up the chicken’s cavity.  Trust me, this will be sooo good.  I know it’s kinda gross to shove things up a dead, headless chicken’s butt.  Just do an impression of Julia Child as you go.

IMG_0513

After you’ve washed all the raw chicken off of everything, chop up some onions, potatoes and carrots.  Start using a French accent as a result of your exposure to butter, potatoes, carrots and onions in one place.  Dump all your lovely root vegetables around the chicken.

IMG_0514

Give the whole thing a generous salting and peppering.  Clearly, I love pepper.

Now put the lid on and stick it in a 450 degree oven until the chicken’s juices run clear.  Mine ended up cooking for 45 minutes or so.  The total time will depend on the size of your chicken and how much stuff is in the pot, etc.  Your kitchen will smell amazing while this is cooking.

IMG_0515

The finished bird.

When it is finished, it will be golden brown and delicious-looking.  I should have taken a picture before I sliced the breasts, but I was checking for done-ness.  I should probably invest in a meat thermometer.

Grab a plateful and enjoy!  I like to smear the soft garlic cloves on my potatoes, but no one wants to kiss me for the rest of the day, so make your own judgement on that one.

5 thoughts on “Simple Roasted Chicken

  1. wow you are hardcore! I definitely have a problem tackling a whole bird…..so I am amazed at your whole chicken-ness ………maybe I will try this with chicken breasts :)

Leave a Reply

