Movin’ On Up

 

Hello friends,  it’s terrible that I haven’t posted in over a month!  Work has been quite busy, and as it turns out purchasing a house is quite a process that also demands lots of time and energy.  There were some updates I wanted to let you all know about, but I was kinda afraid I would jinx it or something if I put it on the blog.  Do you ever feel that way?  Like when you have great news but it isn’t for sure yet and you have to keep it under wraps?  It is really difficult for me.  I think that’s why I haven’t been able to even think about posting anything else here.  But I think I can safely spill the beans now….We got a house!!  Woo hoo!!!!  Now before you look at the picture please keep in mind that Husband and I wanted a fixer-upper.

front

I know it looks pretty sad right now, but trust me, after I get going with a paintbrush you won’t recognize the place.  Plus Husband is about to wet himself with excitement over the fantastic landscaping he wants to put in.

We are still in the purchasing process, but we’ve had all our inspections done and there was nothing so terrible that we didn’t think the house wasn’t still a good deal.  Now we are just waiting for all the paperwork to be done and tentatively we will close about mid-May.

The tough thing about buying a house is that you can’t really let yourself get excited until pretty late in the game, which is really difficult.  With this particular house we got into a bidding war – a stressful experience – and then didn’t get the house.  I was really upset.  But a week or so later, the buyers who did get it backed out, and we pounced.

So here are the details on our first little house: it was built in 1949, has two bedrooms and one bathroom, and is about 1060 square feet.  It is in the neighborhood that we really wanted to be in, so that is a major plus.  It has a lot of projects in store for us, but I am really looking forward to putting our own stamp on it.  Also we got it for a steal, mostly because it’s a little ugly on the outside.  But it is certainly the ugliest house on the street, so we are really happy with the potential investment value.

So get ready for some before-and-afters in the next year or two.  I’m sure I will have lots of tips on what not to do!

One thought on “Movin’ On Up

  1. oh my gosh! This is so exciting! I can’t wait to see how great you guys make it! I know you have such an eye for design and awesomeness it’s gonna be great :)

Leave a Reply

