The Before: More Pictures of Our New Place

Many people have expressed interest in seeing more pictures of our new house, so I’ll oblige.  We are closing the deal on Wednesday if all goes well!  I’m so excited to get going on all the projects we want to do.  As you’ll see from the pictures, there is a good bit of work that needs to be done.  If anyone finds themselves bored on a Saturday and feels handy, come on over and I will hand you a paintbrush.

front

So in case you haven’t seen it yet, here is the front of our house.  Our first task is taking down the ugly iron gate that is blocking the cute front porch, then obviously we need to do a lot of painting.  We are still deciding on color schemes (those black shutters are just not doing it for me), but I’m sure there will be a post on that soon.  What looks like a barren front yard to some is a fantastic blank slate to my husband.  He can’t wait to get some cheerful plants going.

Front Entry

Here’s our little front entry.  You can see that the wood floors have been nicely maintained and I’m ecstatic about that.

IMG_0792

When you walk in, the dining room and kitchen entry are to the right and the living room is to the left.  Several people have asked if I am going to paint over the current colors and the answer is yes.  It isn’t because I don’t like them – I actually don’t mind the tan or the green in the dining room – it is because they were poorly done.  Also the trim is badly in need of a coat of paint.  So basically every surface will be getting a fresh coat of paint.

IMG_0788

This is (a blurry picture of) the living room as viewed from the dining room.  The lack of ceiling fan is a concern for my super hot and hot-natured husband so I imagine that’s something high on his priority list before the South Texas Summer really hits us.

IMG_0787

Our dining room might be my favorite room in the house right now.  I love dishes and I am really looking forward to having a dedicated space to show off some of my things.  That garish chandelier will definitely not last long.  If it looks somewhat cute in the picture, trust me, it’s awful in person.  There are 90’s-esque pleated shades with bead trim hot glued on covering each bulb.

IMG_0785

Aaand the kitchen.  It’s in sad shape at the moment.  At some point someone decided that laminate floors were a good idea, which maybe wouldn’t be so bad if they weren’t next to the real wood floors of the dining room.  At least it is light and bright.

IMG_0784

The kitchen itself is a pretty good size, the space just isn’t utilized well at the moment.  Those pipes you see on the left are the washer hook up.  However the 220V plug for the dryer is in the detached garage.  We are hoping to do a full renovation of the kitchen this summer, but we’ll see.  It is definitely one of the most expensive items on our list, but we spend a lot of time in the kitchen so it’s important to us.

IMG_0791

Here’s the view from the living room into the hallway leading to the two bedrooms and the bathroom.  The inspector was in the attic when I took this photo, hence the ladder.  That crazy green box on the wall is the old panel heater.  It doesn’t work anymore and the a/c unit has a heater (not that we ever use a heater down here – we didn’t turn the heat on in our apartment once this entire winter) so we are planning to remove it eventually.

IMG_0795

Here’s bedroom one – the guest bedroom.  Both bedrooms are currently a blah beige.  The carpet is in ok shape, but we have pulled it back enough to discover that the same gorgeous wood floors are under this carpet as well.  I am planning on getting that carpet outta there before we move in.  Stay tuned.

IMG_0806

Here is the second bedroom which will be our master bedroom.  Same carpet situation as the other bedroom.  Luckily, these are the only places with carpet so I can get it pulled up and the floors sanded and coated with polyurethane in a weekend (I hope!)

IMG_0801

We have a pink bathroom!! I actually kinda love it.  It is definitely original to the house and is miraculously clean considering its age.  Since it’s in such good shape it is definitely at the bottom of our renovation to-do list, but I won’t make Husband live with a pink bathroom forever.

IMG_0802

Am I the only one who thinks that sink looks like something out of a public bathroom?  But on the other hand, the built-in storage is great and I love the little mirror.  Also I have yet to find an electrical outlet in here.  Looks like I will be doing my hair in the bedroom.

Well that’s all for now – hope you enjoyed this little tour.  I will post pictures of the yard later.  I look forward to showing you our ongoing progress!!

4 thoughts on “The Before: More Pictures of Our New Place

  1. Honestly, I would have never guessed the house looked like that on the inside based on what I see on the outside. I’d kiss Lady GaGa if my wife could have hard wood floors like that (but then my wife wouldn’t have me).

Leave a Reply

