The Most Important Things in Life Aren’t Things

I’ve never really been afraid of tornadoes.  I lived in “tornado alley” for most of my childhood and can remember more than once watching a tornado out the bathroom window when I was a little girl.  I guess weather has never really been frightening to me – I’m not sure why.  Maybe it is the rush of really feeling the power of God?  If you have ever experienced a Texas thunderstorm you know what I mean.

But this morning I realized that maybe part of the reason inclement weather never frightened me is because I am not yet a parent.  I cannot imagine how those people must feel today.  I know I was glad I was able to wake up next to my husband and feed my dog this morning.

I saw a picture someone posted on Facebook today that depicted a decorative sign showing through a pile of rubble.  It said, “The most important things in life aren’t things.”  How true!  I am so thankful for the non-things God has blessed me with, and I’m sure you are too. 

And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love.  Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow – not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love.

No power in the sky above or in the earth below – indeed nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord. 

Romans 8:38-39

One thought on “The Most Important Things in Life Aren’t Things

Leave a Reply

